Poker Hand Reading Practice (20/05/2017)

 

Practice Makes Perfect

Hello guys! I’m here with another poker hand to analyze. Always remember that the most important skill to achieve perfection is practice, practice and more practice. Before we know it, it will become second nature at the tables. For this exercise, I will analyze each street in terms of better and worse hands our opponent might be taking his line in the hand. Let’s jump in at today’s hand:

Preflop

If you haven’t seen my post on how to calculate preflop equity quickly, check it out here.

Action Preflop Equity Estimation Real Equity
My equity estimation is: A(15)x2 +8(8) + 20 + suited(2) = 60% – 3bet calling range of 5% (25) = 35% 37%

The Flop

Action Better Hands Worse Hands
Set of 88 and Overpairs None

The Turn

Action Better Hands Worse Hands
Sets Pocket pairs (99-QQ)

The River and Showdown

Action Better Hands Worse Hands
Full house Pocket pairs

He showed up with QQ which was on his final range of 25 combos out of the 55 combos preflop:

Summary

Although I was lucky enough to catch an A on the turn, I also feel my opponent was pot commited, so after a correct raise on the flop, on the turn he might wanted to get it all-in. However, as I made the 3bet preflop, he could expect most of my range consisted of Ax and big pocket pairs, so with more stack size, he would have probably just called the turn bet. Anyways, it was a great practice.


If you have any thoughts on this hand, leave a comment, I would love to read it!

If you like it, please vote, comment and follow!!!

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑